jump to navigation

Building Community One Recipe at a Time December 7, 2010

Posted by gfsa in Community Stories.
trackback

Where does the time go? In May 2010 I wrote about eating local food (food that is close to your home) and how it builds community.  Well guess what this is not new news!! It happened all over again this summer in Alberta as the community of eaters, growers and producers came together.  The feeling of community was so strong for me this summer that I felt I missed something if I was away and missed the market or couldn’t get my ‘picking ‘ fix.  Does that sound familiar?

Now that the summer growing season and Fall harvest seasons are over..what’s next?  Not only do I miss the markets, the u-picks, the wild berries and the yields of my own garden and giving the bounty to friends and family, but I miss the people. The fruit guy from BC, Marilyn the lamb lady down the road and the familiar faces at the u-picks.  What to do?  Well I leaf through my seed magazines, draw garden plans and cook, bake and share.  I am re-experiencing root vegetables and the squashes that make amazing soups and cakes. I am sharing these recipes with others as I look forward to the bounty of next year.  This is the time to organize your recipes, share recipes, and find new ones, so you don’t have to go searching for them when the bounty is coming in fast and furious over the summer and fall.  Sharing is what community is all about.  As you ponder next year why not keep your gardening, community dinner or ‘good food box’ groups alive with a recipe swap – favourite recipes, oldest recipe, newest recipe, root vege recipes, all Canadian recipes, recipes packed with nutrition and low in cost …the list goes on. Here is a favourite of mine that I rediscovered after Halloween and have shared with friends as I hunt down and cook other favourites.

Spicey Thai soup…..
• 1tsp oil
• ½ cup finely minced onion
• 1tbsp finely minced garlic
• 1tbsp finely minced ginger
• 1tbsp finely minced lemon grass (I don’t use this..or if I have a lemon spice of any sort I put it in)
• 1tsp finely minced chili
• pepper (optional)
• 1 ½ cups pureed pumpkin or squash ( great for right after Halloween with the leftover pumpkins
• 1 ½ cups chicken or vegetable stock
• 3 cups soy milk or cows milk
• Juice from 2 limes and zest from 1
• 1tsp sugar
• 1 tbsp soy sauce
• Salt and pepper to taste
• Sour cream, optional and ½ cup  of chopped cilantro (optional as garnish)
Sauté onions, olive and ginger in oil. Add the lemon grass, chili pepper and squash.  Heat to boiling. Add milk, lime juice and zest, sugar, soya and then peppar to taste.  Heat through.  Garnish with Sour cream and or cilantro to taste.   Nutritious, colourful  and Yummy!

Remember – Save the leftover mash potatoes for leek soup ..makes leek soup easy..or use them to add texture to your baked bread.   Happy recipe swapping and cooking everyone!  

Submitted by: Susan Roberts

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

